In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case ? Do you think this a positive or negative situation ?

In some countries, people highly own home ownership, but in others, renting one's accommodation from a property owner is perfectly normal and it is even more praise than buying a house. In my point of view, whether it is a positive or negative situation depends on many factors.

On the one hand, it can be seen that most young people now concentrated on earning money to buy their dwelling to take a freedom space. Additionally, purchasing a house of your own will not have to live with anyone, or be influenced by people around, and you do not have to worry about unexpected incidents like in apartments, especially in severely degraded apartments. Take one of the most luxurious condominiums in Ho Chi Minh City as an example, this incident happened in 2019, a sudden fire that occurred in the night claimed the lives of more than 100 people, but the main cause was a petrol leak from a resident's motorbike in the basement. Consequently, after this incident, 60% of the people living in the apartment said that they don not dare to live in it anymore.

On the other hand, living in an apartment has several benefits. To begin with, the cost to build a shelter is a significant concern for workers, especially the poor; while you can find apartments for rent at a much cheaper cost and suitable for your salary. For example, a monthly salary of 10 million, if you do not want to build a house, then find a house to rent for 2 million and you still have a large amount of money left over for future work, because if you do not have an amount of money before, it will be a long time before you have enough money to build your own house.

In conclusion, it is better to own a home can be a great thing if it is within your ability. However, it could turn into a negative situation when it is beyond your capability.