In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

To date, shopping is considered to be a pleasant way of spending time rather than a boring task. From my perspective, it would be reasonable to partly agree with this statement.

On the one hand, buying various clothes and even food sometimes enables a person’s happiness. There is a common opinion that while doing shopping people are distracted from their problems and relax, which makes them feel better and regard shopping as a hobby. Thus, for some people at present shopping becomes one of the ways to spend time pleasantly and effectively.

But on the other hand, doing shopping as a hobby cannot be considered to be a definitely positive tendency. First of all, buying things too often and in enormous quantities usually leads to non-controlled consumerism. Therefore, more and more clothes and other products are thrown away, damaging environment and causing more pollution, as not all of them can be recycled. Secondly, there is a possibility that regarding shopping as a hobby will transform into a serious psychological illness, when a person is not able to control amounts of money spent on buying clothes and products. Furthermore, such people continue doing useless shopping every day and in some period of time they realize that are out of money and have to borrow it, making the situation even worse.

In conclusion, shopping can be regarded either as a useful hobby or a harmful trend. Therefore, it is paramount to be a reasonable consumer and enable shopping to be only a pleasant and not harmful experience both for a person and environment.