In the past sporting champions used to be motivated primarily by the desire to win a match or to break worldrecords These days they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous What message does this send to young peop

In the former days, sportspeople aimed to win gold medals and set new records. Nowadays athletes are only intrigued by the prizes and popularity.

These days sporting champions make fools of themselves just for the sake of recognition. They act like toddlers during official games and tournaments, show disrespectful behavior towards they opponents, some even try to cheat. These actions set the wrong expectations for the younger generation. They start believing that becoming an athlete is a piece of cake and can make them rich and world-renowned. However, that is not the case. Sporting champions carry a heavy burden on their shoulders. They make sacrifices on a regular basis to be on the top of their field.

Since in some sports, players are rewarded higher salaries, most sport league are commercialized, as they need to pay their athletes. This causes a significant rise in the prices of tickets and souvenirs at sport stadiums. That is why during games, broadcasted on TV, there are always commercial breaks and sponsor promotions. This industrialization has negatively affected many sports, corrupted officials, game and tournament results being fixed. A large portion of elite teams are now becoming trading associations. They use professional athletes to gain profits.

All in all, the fundamental structures of sports have been lost. There is no sportsmanship, teamwork, athleticism. Sports have become more a business rather than a leisure activity you can enjoy with friends and family. Therefore, I do not support the idea of sport being a profitable industry. Sport is a combination of all kinds of physical activities which are done with a specific reason and in conditions which differ from the daily. Therefore, jumping over a hurdle in a spot’s hall in front of thousands of people is a sport, but jumping over a puddle in the street is just you trying to keep you shoes dry.