In the past, when students did a university degree , they tended to study in their own country.

Nowadays , they have more opportunities to study abroad.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Throughout the progression of education over the world, studying overseas is furthermore popular than in the past, when students tend to have home country’s bachelor degree, due to numerous benefits that can be derived. Besides some merits it brings, there are some negative problems and my essay will analyze this issue.

Pursuing an education overseas can give students many chances for their development of education and future career. First and foremost, studying in a foreign nation brings various opportunities for learners to widen their horizons about different parts of the world such as new traditions, cultures and languages. Taking studying abroad in Europe as an example, when students choose Europe for their studying, besides learning only English, they have to learn third languages which are the mother-tongue of the country they are in. Secondly, attending school in a foreign country will lead to better career prospects. Foreign companies are more and more popular in many countries and they tend to look for overseas degree. As a result, when people have a foreign degree, they will have their dream jobs with high pay without any difficulties in the highly competitive market.

While studying overseas has many benefits, there are also some drawbacks which are worth considering. First of all, when people too enjoy their life in other countries, they will be reluctant to return their home country, it can give rise to a shortage of skilled labors. Furthermore, studying overseas means students have to spend the amount of their time to stay and live in there, as a result, they will adapt to their life, the environment outsides and seek permanent residence in a foreign country. If gifted people choose to live overseas too much, not only the economy but also the education of their host countries will change.

Taking everything into account, studying abroad has both merits and drawbacks in our countries. Whether these good or bad depends on purposes and the way students choose and pursue them. However, studying overseas is still an essential part of education.