In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country.

Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Studying in national universities used to be popular in the past when students want to get college qualifications. However, people have more chances to access overseas countries. Although there are some drawbacks of this trend, I would argue that there are far more benefits.

On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks when students choose to study abroad. Firstly, this phenomenon poses an alarming situation of human capital flight. Approaching a new modern education make students want to stay in that country. Because studying abroad provide them with career prospects and holistic learning environments, many people do not find the desire to come back to their country. Secondly, people who attend university overseas may have to deal with mental issues namely homesickness and culture shock. This leads to the consequences that they will find it difficult to integrate with the community.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. The one reason for this view is that studying in other countries means students have more opportunities to approach various cultures. Thus, they could broaden their knowledge and enrich their life experiences by hanging out with friends from all over the world or learning new languages. Another reason is that accessing an enormous educational resource is a possible result of enrolling in foreign colleges. In some developing countries, there are still limits in material facilities in schools and universities like a lack of tools in labs and documents for researching and learning. Moreover, students could come back and contribute to their country by the results and practical skills that they acquired in international universities.

In conclusion, while I recognize the possible disadvantages of studying abroad to get qualifications, I consider it to be a positive development.