By paying more to employees based on their performance levels, you can keep their motivation high. Do you agree this is the best way to encourage employees?

Hiking salaries of the employees, depending on their productivity and dedication, is thought to be the key to motivate them. However, I disagree with the statement; as, this is one of the ways but not the optimum method of encouragement. This essay will talk about various ways to motivate employees and the factors that prevent more pay from being the most effective way for the same.

Firstly, salaries are hiked at a particular time of the year; as a result some employees show better conduct only at that period while maintaining poor performance for the entire year. Thus, a hike of this kind will discourage genuine workers, that perform well all year round. Secondly, all employees receive a hike once a year, irrespective of their performance and only a variation in level of pay cannot be really considered motivational. However, increasing the pay is undoubtedly rewarding but when it comes to motivating people it lacks because of the above factors.

Whereas, arranging felicitation ceremonies can be quite motivating. It not only brings respect to the person but also recognition and fame among their colleagues. For instance, "best employee award" can be awarded to the person who have shown extraordinary performance throughout the year. Additionally, bonuses for 100% attendance every month or twice a month will increase regularity and also performance. A trip coupon with family for performing better can be rewarding and drive an employee to perform well in order to get hailed by the family.

So, to recapitulate, it is a good way to increase the pay to encourage people but encouragement should be unceasing and perennial process for better performance. This can be achieved through ways that brings fame and recognition along with money.