People aim to achieve a balance between their work and lives, but few people succeed. What are the causes of this problem? How to overcome it?

Endless conversations focusing on work-life balance for workers, especially between young people, are splashed all over the media. However, there has been a modest number of persons successfully balancing between work and lives. There are several explanations for this problem, followed by certain measures

The fact that almost all workers struggle to maintain a balance between their personal and professional lives can be justified in some ways. It is possible that the heavy workloads require employees to work overtime with a view to catching up with the current backlog. In this situation, people would be under the pressure that they should always be available, otherwise, they would be deemed to be unreliable and uncommitted. Therefore, they are forced to spend more working time than the time for personal lives

Currently, there are some methods that can be adopted to achieve work-life balance. The first solution is that managers should impose fewer requirements as well as expectations on their employees. In addition, quality and productivity should be prioritized as business principles and culture rather than heavy workload. By this way, leaders can prevent their staff from working overtime, then get extra time for personal life. On the contrary, employees must be responsible for maintaining their own environment and personal rules so as not to be drawn into a state of stress. For example, they should get enough quality sleep at night, or create clear boundaries for their time off with robust slogan “call me if it’s urgent”

In conclusion, the fact that many individuals fail to achieve work-life balance stems from the pressure of heavy workloads and their shortage of time management skills. There are a number of feasible solutions to tackle these problems which are the decrease of requirements and expectations from the managers and the personal rules of employees