People born today can expect to live longer than people in previous generations. What are some of the positive and negative implications of this phenomenon?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Human life-span are expected to be expanded due to enhancement in many aspects of humankind. This trend has both benefits and drawbacks, which will be elaborated below.

On the one hand, as humans live longer, people now are able to contribute more to societies than their counterparts in the past. This is deeply rooted in the fact that elderly workers who have accumulated decades of experience, could extend their employment thus create more values to their workplaces. To illustrate, Warren Buffet, a legend American investor who is over 100 years old is currently mangaging his company which constantly outperform other businesses in the finance industry. Thus, the longer people live, the more they can

Missing word?

Did you forget something after this word?

Do you need to add ‘a’ or something similar?

Next

make contribution to the world.

Conversely, larger population of senior citizens could cause greater burden on healthcare system. The old often takes a noticeable part of government funding. This is particularly the case for Canada and Japan, in which old people constitutes a large proportion of the total population. By paying for hospitals, nursing home and salary to maintain suffcient infrastructure and medical services, the authorities may not be able to fund other priorities such as education or science which are fundamental for future development of nations. Therefore, it is also problematic when people's life is extended.

In the light of these facts, people's longer life-span can benefit to their company and their society as a whole, albeit it could be a challenge to social welfare system of countries. I believe that people could achieve more if our life is prolonged.