People generally know that the environment is important. However, most individuals still don't take responsibility to protect the environment. Why is this? What should ben done to encourage people to protect the environment?

Many catastrophic natural disasters occured recently have made people realize how crucial the environment is to us. Tsunamis, earthquakes, hurricanes, etc. are responsible for huge numbers of casualties every year. Humans also have to depends on Mother Nature in certain industries such as agriculture and tourism. Unfortunately, many individuals are still ignorance refuse to take responsibility to protect the environment. From my point of view, there are two major reasons explaining this reckless behaviour. In this essay, I plan to point out why people are being so indifferent and propose some feasible solutions to these complicated issues.

Initially, the first reason is that many people are uneducated on the on-going environmental problems, especially those in developing countries. Citizens of these countries consider pollution and resources depletion complicated and are problems of the future. They are unaware of the impacts that plastics, sewage, or chemical toxins have on nature. A research carried out in a rural area of Vietnam have shown that 60% of residents do not know why they should stop using plastic bags. Consequently, people keep treating the environment poorly, which will eventually result in its deterioration.

Another factor contributing to people's lack of actions toward the environmental problems is that the eco-friendly lifestyle is quite hard to maintain. Humans have gotten used to such reckless lifestyle of using plastic straws, plastic cups, and dumping wastes into the ocean. Humans have gotten used to harnessing nature to satisfy our own needs such as food, drinks and wants such as clothes. Moreover, the price of a environmentally-friendly lifestyle is definitely not affordable. Rather than buying costly metal straws and tote bags, people would pick plastic straws and plastic bags foe their cheap price. All in all, many individuals cannot keep up with the sustainable lifestyle due to either their preference or finance.

To tackle this complex issue, the government and organizations should put out campaigns and advertisements in order to educate citizens more on the on-going environmental problems. They should also invest more on manufacturing eco-friendly goods so that these products become less of a financial burden and impose certain restrictions on the act toward nature.

To sum up, there are many reasons why people can be irresponsible for preserving the environment, two of which being lack of knowledge and difficulties in maintaining a sustainable lifestyle. Countries' government should take action immediately so that citizens pay more attention to the pollution crisis that we are currently facing.