People living in large cities have to face many problems in everyday life. What are those problems?

Should the government encourage people to move to regional towns?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

More and more people are moving towards big cities. Although this migration is to have a better life but they experience numerous obstacles in day-to-day life. The main problems of living in larger cities include high expectancy and frustration and greater exposure to environmental pollution. I think state or local authority can offer some long term solutions to move people to rural areas.

The fast spaced life of big cities attracts people from all over the countryside but also put them under intense competition in job market. Due to higher life-style expectancy, people are continuously exposing themselves to unnecessary stress which can ultimately leads to mental problems like depression. For instance, researchers have established connection between large city dwellers and mental health problem. Another problem which is worth to mention is environmental pollution in urban areas. The level of air pollution which results from emission of greenhouse gases by automobiles has profound effects on a person’s physical well-being. Moreover, mega cities like New York or San Francisco have numerous industrial and commercial establishments which further contribute to air pollution.

However, there are many possible ways by which government can encourage people to go back to small towns. Regional office of big corporation can be built or better commute network should be established between urban and regional towns. This way they can have their secured and high paid jobs close to their house or can travel from countryside to city everyday. Moreover, they can live close to the nature, enjoy the mesmerizing beauty with family which are very relaxing and keep people stress free. In addition there is less chance of getting sick from air pollution as rural areas are free of industrial pollutants as well as greenhouse gases.

In conclusion, city dwellers can face multiple problems which can be solved by the involvement of government in the form of building regional branch office and better commuter infrastructures. Thus people will move to countryside to enjoy a good life.