People nowadays are surrounded by all kinds of advertising. Some people believe that advertising has more negative than positive influences on people’s lives. To what extent do your agree or disagree?

Advertising is a powerful marketing tool that almost every company is utilizing. Discussion now centers on whether so many commercials have exerted more positive or negative influence on people’s lives. My view is that everyone as a customer should have a balanced understanding of ads.

Advertising bridges the demand and supply in the market. Business ads on TV, radio and newspaper provide useful and valuable information about a product or service to target audiences, help them to compare qualities of different products and choose the most cost-effective one. It is also an essential way for companies to promote their products, boost sales, make profits, and build brand images.

Moreover, if ads are created to be memorable and thought-provoking, they can draw public’s attention and change people’s attitudes and behaviors as well. For example, governments often disseminate important messages to community through public service advertising. It can raise the public’s awareness, ranging from road safety to public health, animal rights and environmental protection, which is definitely beneficial to the whole of society.

Yet there is a dark side to this picture: advertisements generally only claims a product’s advantages and the high cost of the ads is added to the product’s retail price, which is ultimately borne by customers. In order to entice consumer to purchase an item, some ads are even exaggerated and misleading. And more offensively, some advertising agencies illegally collect our personal information, then keep sending promotional ads through annoying junk mails and text messages.

In summary, advertising plays a vital role in this commercial world. It is a vivid and effective method of communication and facilitates business activity and economic growth. Meanwhile, government authorities should enforce stricter standards on the advertising industry to avoid false advertising and misrepresentation, and protect the consumers’ privacy and interests.