The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The issue of the aim of science has been brought into focus recently. Whether the most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. From my perspective, I think that improving the lives of people is one of the important aims of science but it is not the most important.

It is true that promoting life is the important target of science. This is because science can advance different kinds of technological development, which improves people’s life span, therefore enhancing our livelihood. For example, many scientists focus on artificial intelligence algorithm that seek the best method to predict the incidence of disease, which allows us to prevent some terrible diseases such as cancer through changing our lifestyle. Thus, this can reduce the probability of disease.

However, improving people’s lives not the most important aim of science. It need to depend on the types of science. Improving human-being life is the aim of social science, which it is not the object of natural science. Searching for the truth and advancing knowledge are both the aim of natural science which promote the development of people. To be more specific, natural science pay close attention to the regulations about material, energy and motivation. This rules allows us to explore some terra incognita, thus contributing to seek the truth and promote other discipline development.

In conclusion, improving human life is the important aim of science but looking for the truth about our world is also another important goal of science. Therefore, I firmly believe that modifying people’s lives just one of the aim of science.