People often find it difficult to adapt to new situations in their lives. Why do you think this is? What measures can you suggest to make it easier?

Living abroad or having a new job, where people often have to face with various unfamiliar situations, might put them under great pressure. A recent research said that above 80% of the immigrants feel unease whenever they settle in a new country. This is because it requires a long period to adapt with new environment, new culture and new language. However, there are several measures, which will be discussed in this essay, could alleviate the situation.

Lack of connection is the main reason why people feel it difficult. Since families and friends are not beside as always, it would not be easy to express oneself thought and feeling. For example, after graduate from high school, leaving hometown or country is often the choice of many student to continue their academic study. As a result, this might lead to depression if the process of adapting is not taking place fast enough.

In order to overcome these problems, first of all, study about the new culture beforehand is a good method. For instance, immigrants might blend in faster if they could speak host country language at a certain basic level. This is the same cases with new jobs, knowing what colleagues are interesting in might give insights to mitigate with the workplaces better. In addition, keeping contact with old friends or family would provide great mental support while people are struggling with new environment. In order words, people should sending mails, video calls or texting with friends they already made while creating new relationships at work or school. Furthermore, joining local community activities or school clubs, where people usually have a lot in common with, is also a great idea.

In conclusion, it is obvious that adapting with a new life is not easy to everyone, however, if people well prepared and supported, it would be less difficult to slowly getting familiar with those new situations.