Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a gap year, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both view and give opinion.

In the recent year, certain young citizens opt for a gap year before decide to studying at a university or working at a company. They argue that this is an advantage for them to understand themselves and the world before getting serious. However, other people believe that this is not a great idea and people are squandering their resources. From my perspective, both arguments have a fair point, and I will further elaborate in this essay.

Most people have to choose a career or a major to follow after graduate from high school, however, it is not everyone know exactly who they want to be in the future. It seems to a fair suggestion that a gap year is a great opportunity for those people to figure it out. By traveling to various places, people are exposed to different cultures and offered a chance to reflect themselves. For instances, after travelled to Africa and saw the problems of hapless people in those areas , travellers, who have not decide their career path , might desire to be a politician in order to help unlucky individuals or families. In addition, since they are traveling and interacting with a lot of people, various social skills and soft skills might be obtained which could beneficial later on.

Although there is some truth to these ideas, it is also true to say, for those who already know exactly who they want to be in the future, this gap year is not quiet necessary. Generally speaking, instead of spending a huge amount of time and money on a year just to fell behind, they could focus on their goals either in career or in studying. To be a doctor in most cases, for example, would take people six to eight years of studying until officially become an expert. Thus, this one year of traveling might be a superfluity or a backfire.

In conclusion, traveling for one year is certainly necessary for certain people, however, it is unessential for those who have had make up their mind about their future. Therefore, I believe people should take a gap year, if affordable, when they are unsure about colleges or universities.