Some people believe that it would be beneficial if employees worked three or four days per week rather than five or six days.

Why is this? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Working for five or six days each week has been deemed commonplace for decades in modern society. However, some people assert that reducing the working days of employees down to about three or four days per week would bring more advantages such as relief time. Whilst this idea is compelling, there is strong opposing evidence to refute it.

First and foremost, it is no doubt that so high is the amount of time that people spent at work that they often suffer from stress-related illness. Thus, cutting down one or two working days would give workers more time to recover before they go back to work. Spending time with family, for example, is a great way to utilize those spare time. Subsequently, much more relaxing than before that the employees feel, leading to higher productivity at work. However, causing more stress might be if their working hours are less but the workload is unchanged.

Another benefit of this notion is that more job opportunities are created. A great number of workers are employed to fill in the place or the day that other people left behind. As a result, the problem of unemployment in developed countries will be partly solved. The US, for instance, where jobs are becoming increasingly demanding will find its benefit. And since more people have a stable occupation, there would be fewer crimes taking place. Nonetheless, hiring more staff would put great pressure on firms and human resources departments.

Finally, with the number of times people have to commute, it is likely for the environment, air quality specifically, to be improved. A great deal of carbon emission is cut down as well as the probability of traffic congestions. But it is unlikely that everyone will stay at home because they do not have to go to work.

In conclusion, working less than the usual one or two days surely benefit society in certain ways, however, such a viewpoint can be refused as there are other problems are created by it.