People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature such as novels and poems. Do you agree or disagree?

A good few people think that nowadays high school students are bearing an enormous burden of studying compulsory subjects at school and they argue that literature should be removed from curriculums. While a number of students may not into studying literature, I strongly oppose the idea that learning literature is unnecessary for several reasons.

Firstly, literature nurtures a benign heart and a profound mind. By reflecting real-world problems, the miserable lives of impoverished people, the famous Les Misérables helps students develop a strong sense for equality, sympathy and philanthropy. Gone with the wind, however, teaches them the power of love, shows them wonderful and altruistic deeds people can do in the name of love. As for the mind, children can develop imagination by getting immersed in the imaginary world of Harry Potter, where they see themselves as a witch or wizard, flying on a broom stick and learning bizarre subjects at Hogwarts.

Secondly, abandoning literature means annihilating numerous talents in this society. Everyone is blessed with a gift since birth, and definitely there will be people who innately possess eminent ability with words. From ancient times to the present, mankind is fortunate to have William Shakespeare, Leo Tolstoy, Victor Hugo, Dazai Osamu, and so on, who went down in history for masterpieces they left in the world literature. If students with literary gifts no longer can study their beloved subject, they would be demotivated at schools. The career path for writers may also be narrowed down, as a consequent, they are forced to pursuit a job that they are neither good at nor fond of. Of course, the society are negatively affected by losing decent workers.

In conclusion, I believe that learning literature is beneficial for both the society and each individuals living in it, as the subject fosters both affection and thinking of a person, which will make good writers and poetics for humankind.