Some people say music is a good way of bringing people of different culture and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree

The world is getting smaller due to the development of transportation and the Internet, which play a great role of connect people from all over the world. There are opinions that music is also a brilliant method that can create a great bond among people of different culture and ages and I totally adhere to this view.

Firstly, music is a great source of emotional memory. People may have some connections between a certain song with one memorable event in their life and even share that memory with another people. Therefore, whenever one hears that melody on play, one may immediately recall the memory of that event. For instance, “Waka waka”, the official 2010 FIFA World Cup song has become so famous that until now, after more than 10 years, people all over the world can still feel the summer heat and the festive atmosphere of the biggest football competition in the world, and still remember Shakira being the singer who performed the song perfectly.

Secondly, music can convey the emotion and feelings of the composer. Similar to a piece of literature or an envelope of letter, music can deliver a message, a bit of emotion that the composer would like to send through the melodies or the lyrics, hence helps connecting the composer and the receiver. Though still under heated controversy, but many researchers agree that “Für Elise” was a love song that the ingenious music composer Beethoven dedicated for a woman he loved.

Some people may argue that the lyrics in the songs may be in another language, therefore foreign listeners cannot be sure that they fully understand the meaning behind them. However, the opponents may forget that a song contains melodies and rhythms beside lyrics, and the tunes, the notes themselves have already been able to tell a lot of stories. One example of the fact that music has already been successful in bringing people of different countries together is the global phenomenon of BTS. BTS started as a small K-pop group under an almost nameless company, Bighit, but now the seven men have become global stars and have conquered such a fastidious music market of the United States. Their fandom, Army, has members from all regions on the Earth, from Asia to Europe and America; as a result, BTS has held multiple concerts not only in South Korea, their home town, but also in any place where Army presents.

In conclusion, I totally believe that music is an amazing way of narrowing down the distance among people from different nations and backgrounds.