People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

That connectivity across the world is increasing enables people to travel to every corner for matters such as living or working. However, this trend also raises a question that whether newcomers should comply with the host country’s way of life. Personally, I agree with this particular view.

Certain merits make people opt for that being culturally accustomed to new communities. Firstly, because globalization has proliferated the numbers of multinational corporations at an unprecedented rate, workplaces with mixed nationality are common. However, although working aboard is considered to be a lucrative option, cultural shock is a major drawback that jeopardizes even an experienced employee’s career prospects during his expatriation. Specifically, the discrepancies between the Western and the Asian work style could lead to an overall declined productivity of the team. With this in mind, international workers should reconcile their expectations and their country’s manners with the nature of their oversea employers.

Secondly, the upsurge of the global population has produced many entrepreneurial opportunities. This results in the rapid expansion of many behemoths to achieve their financial ambitions by establishing new branches. But a company, without taking the local consumers’ cultural behaviours into account, could suffer losses. For example, the failure of MacDonald’s in Vietnam is due to that the hamburgers packed with cholesterol have no place in the land where staple ingredients such as vegetables, herbs, rice… are in favour.

Thirdly, a culture, besides certain appealing aspects of a culture such as food, music, history,… , also has certain taboos. If a visitor doesn’t want to prompt the local’s hostility, he should eschew these pitfalls as much as possible. For example, while littering doesn’t meet any punishment in Vietnam, the same act in Singapore carries a heavy fine.

In conclusion, it is true that cultural sensitivity helps people and businesses reach their goals and avoid unintentionally disrespecting local people.