International travel has many advantages to both travellers and the country that they visited. Do Advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to the rising economy and the rapid expansions of budget airlines, people can fly to any corner of the world to enjoy their holidays. Although the growth of tourism industry can positively influence a country, it also exerts certain impacts. Personally, I believe that the merits would eclipse the demerits.

Providing economic incentives is unarguably the primary contribution of tourism. Indeed, visitors from developed nations are willing to spend extravagantly on their vacations so that they can enjoy the nature of the host nation to the full. Therefore, this particular mindset gives rise to many entrepreneurial opportunities which local businesses can take advantage of to raise their revenues. Specifically, the model, tours coupled with environmental protection activities, from underdeveloped nations where nature has yet been replaced by industrial zones has attracted flocks of tourists from rich continents.

Likewise, the upsurge of transitional arrival results in the increasing popularity of a country’s image on the internet. In particular, visiting historical sites is a top priority as these areas lend a glance to the rise and fall of dynasties over a nation’s course of history. Lessons asides, sightseers also want to capture the moments in these ruins by photography and flaunt them on the news feed, which appealing backgrounds could arouse the curiosity of other users. As a result, the relevant visual or reading references to those places would eventually enjoy more searches. However, traditional values could be in jeopardy due to cultural commercialization. Truly, expatriates who just have scant awareness of the local historical significance could render an old heritage site even more dilapidated through acts of vandalism such as name carving. Consequently, such mindless and deliberate action could pave the way to the lost of ethnical evidence and economic loss.

Nevertheless, the number of similar accidents could be halved by legal intervention. No sensible minds on the course of their journey want their experience affected by being fined or jailed. Therefore, local authorities can issue policies that protect their traditional sites from physical harms and in other words, any violations ensue heavy fines and possible prison sentences. With this deterrence in mind, people regardless of nationality will respect where they tread on.

In conclusion, despite a minor drawback mentioned above, which could be countered by a simple step, a develop hospitality sector can boost a country’s finance and international fame.