people should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

In this day and age, terms such as transnational travel or working overseas have been trivialized due to the increasingly interconnected world. However, this also raises a question that whether newcomers should adapt to the changes if they reside in a new environment. Personally, I agree with this view for certain reasons.

Traditions and customs are held valuable by a nation’s people as they are the very foundation of their ethnicity and give them a sense of national identity. Therefore, people, no matter in which circumstances, will try to reserve and promulgate these intangible values. For this reason, newcomers who can pay respect and adopt the way of life of their current country of residence would gain acknowledgement from its locals.

As globalization has given rise to multinational corporations, it is common to see workplaces with mixed national backgrounds. With this in mind, job hunters who plan their career goals which take a global dimension should equip themselves with the knowledge of the differences among cultures. This preparation can be a pivotal survival tool if they decide to try their career’s luck in another nation. For example, a foreign job applicant can gain an advantage edge if he demonstrates his thorough understanding of his host country’s background to the employers. However, adaptation is not a mere light switch, which can be turned on and off in seconds, so that it’s an uphill struggle for unadaptable people to adjust their habits accordingly to fit in during their expatriation

But, being unable to change doesn’t mean anyone can repel local communities. Instead, every worldwide traveller should look into the taboos in different places that definitely prompt local hostility. For example, although beef is considered to be one the most appetizing of all meat, ordering beefsteak at any restaurants in India causes outrage due to the fact that cows in this religiously intensive land are revered as if they were gods.

In conclusion, it is true that expatriates should be aware of acceptable behaviours and rules in the host country if they don’t want to face alienation.