People should follow the customs and traditions when

people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that people need to adopt the local customs and traditional values when they integrate in a alien country. I completely agree with this perspective.

Admittedly, there are an array of factors leading people to believe that following the customs and traditions in the host country is necessary when they live abroad. Firstly, they need to be aware of how social life in there area works in order to achieve their purposes. In fact, since entrepreneurs want to start-up in a completely new place, they have to understand business practices in there to win and keep their customers, which help their companies to flourish in the long term. Secondly, if people are not aware of culture in a new place, they are not welcomed by local people. This is particularly the case for Singapore, a civilized country, they believe those people who litter the street or spit gum in public spaces are dirty and ill-mannered.

On the other hand, people understand the traditions and customs in the new country can bring them many substantial benefits.Firstly, It help immigrants to overcome difficulties and experience more things to blend into new environment . For example, they can show the appreciation to local people as they can be aware of indigenous customs and be willing to take part in, which is the catalyst for them to overcoming cultural shock or language barriers. Secondly newcomers can benefit from richness of the experience which they will gain from enjoying aspects of local customs and traditions, enabling them to participate in community

life and avoid social isolation. During festivals and national holidays, especially,

they will feel like they ‘belong’ in their new country.

In conclusion, as far as I am concerned, It is inevitable to follow local traditions and customs if new residents want to adapt fully to a new community.