People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this era of integration, people have more opportunities to take up residence in a new nation, and it is believed that they need to comply with its social norms. From my perspective, I do not totally agree with this argument, and I will elaborate on my standpoint in my essay.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that embracing local conventions and ethnic values would offer many merits for those who want to dwell in another country. First and foremost, when individuals settle down to a new land, which is not their hometown, some of them would be prone to suffer from a sense of alienation or isolation. That is why taking to indigenous traditions could help them confront with fewer cultural shock and conflicts. As a result, they could establish a potential relationship as well as network with local residents. Furthermore, if people do not adhere to social norms or practices, they might unintentionally insult or even commit unexpected crimes. For example, in Thailand, if one person steps on money notes with the photo of the King, who are highly respected and worshipped, a stringent punishment will be imposed on him.

On the other hand, despite the advantage of blending into foreign conventions, maintaining cultural values do wonder for yielding fruitful results. Once individuals take pride in their country, they could show patriotism and pass down cultural values to younger generations, which help their tradition flourish in foreign nations. To give a specific example, the Chinese has been really successful in introducing their cultural identity when they found a number of China towns around the world. On top of that, cultural diversity will be boosted when people integrate with locals by getting along with practices as well as preserving roots.

By virtue of the aforementioned opinion, I deem that conforming has its own advantages, given that it aids new dwellers to blend into another nation easily. However, each individual still has to preserve their roots so that they could keep their own colours.