People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is discussed that practicing the local culture in a new country should be a must. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement due to the advantages and disadvantages it could bring.

For some reasons, the newcomers could benefit from obeying the customs and traditions of the host nation. The first one is that cultural adaptation helps the immigrant settle in a new environment better and easier. Cultural differences are always a persistent issue for every nation. Thus, learning the local customs and traditions could bridge the gap between individuals. It might also win the respect of local residents and lead to better inner relationships. In addition, following the rules and laws prevents people from committing crimes and accidental law violations. Starting a new life in a new country may lead to some misunderstandings due to the cultural difference and language barrier, which could cause the immigrants to break the law unintentionally.

However, people should not totally blend into the norms of the host nation because of some potential problems. Firstly, the homeland’s culture might be forgotten when people alter their lives in a new country. For example, in many Vietnamese families in the US today, many Vietnamese parents are hiring other Vietnamese native teachers to teach their children Vietnamese. Therefore, the original tradition should be preserved from generation to generation. It leads to another challenging problem of building a solid cultural foundation for future generations. It could be hard, but not impossible, if people just started with very basic things, such as speaking their mother tongue at home and spending time teaching their children about the homeland’s culture and customs.

All things considered, adhering to local culture and customs is necessary when living overseas. People should make a great effort to integrate into a new environment as well as to preserve their own homeland’s traditions.