"People should never tell lies." To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most of the time lying poses manifold negative issues concerned with crimes, faith, and ethic, hence the commonplace opinion that always telling the truth is imperative, sometimes morally mandatory. Nevertheless, this essay is written in order to demonstrate a partly opposite stance of the writer.

To begin with, it is true that telling the truth is of paramount importance inasmuch as it might help people to attain belief from others, thereby being capable of building up, sustaining, and consolidating long-lasting relationships with them. Not solely does this possibly make people less prone to stress in that they have someone to confide in when under pressure, but it gives them peers who could virtually always readily assist them, particularly in arduous jobs. As a matter of fact, being frank is seemingly one of the cornerstones to a stress-free, comfortable, and convenient life.

Be that as it may, albeit the aforementioned advantages and any others, it is beyond all dispute that it is also crucial people sometimes advisably keep secrets. One of the cases in point is when medical practitioners do not tell or only partially inform or sometimes even give false information as to their patients’ health conditions as part of treatments or by way of fulfilling the patients’ relatives’ aspirations. This plays an integral role in alleviating fear, dismay, and pains of the patients, which could certainly enhance or ameliorate their psychology, and thus prepare them for severe procedures or inevitably miserable consequences. Clearly, the truth should not be disclosed regardless of the diversity of situations.

On balance, the essence of exposing the truth is undeniable; however, it is necessary not to do it or even to do the reverse in some cases since white lies are not harmful if told aptly in the right time.