People sleep less than they used in the past.

What do you think is the reason behind this?

What are the effects on them?

People sleep fewer hours than they used to do many years ago due to large amount of work and this creates fatigue.

People sleep less compared to the past because they work more. This is because they need their job to be done and the job market is more competitive than it used to be and if they don't get their job done, they might fall behind and lose their job. This means that people need to get up earlier to go to work and return home very late in the night, which is cutting their sleep time. For example, recent study the average employee in the 2000s works 2.4 more hours than the average employee in the 1960s.

The primary effect on these people is fatige. Most of the people don't have enough 8 hours to sleep, they sleep only around 5 or 6 hours, this leads to energy deficiency, too tired and to live their lives properly and effectively. Days over days having a few time to sleep will make them suffer from tiredness, memory decline, poorer communication skills, will make them suffer a lot. For example, a soccer club hired a sleep expert, and the studied players perform much better. Those who slept 6 hours a night actually perform worse and often suffer from injuries.

In conclusion, people sleep fewer hours than they used to is because of longer working hours and the effect is exhaustion and tiredness.