People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic. You should write at least 250 words.

In this contemporary world, crime has become a growing concern. Some opine that the most optimal way to reduce crime is to extend the prison penalty, while others say that some alternative approaches are available. In this essay, both views will be thoroughly discussed before any conclusion is reached.

On the one hand, there are some advantageous effects if the former opinion is applied. The most noticeable impact would be a reduction in the criminal rate, especially people committing violent crime. The longer sentences in jail will the criminals have due to their felonies, the more concerns will they have before intending to commit any crime. As a result, authorities can implement this policy as a crime deterrent. Moreover, giving the criminals a longer prison penalty can exert a positive attitude of the public toward law enforcement agencies. Only by strictly penalizing the crime-committer will the judiciary gain the credibility, thus acquiring the faith and the support of people. Last but not least, our society will be protected better thanks to the isolation of these criminals in a long period. Specifically, many people released from the prisons are likely to recommit the felonies, thus leading to an increasing criminal rate. Therefore, an extended penalty for these persons can shield people from hardened criminals.

On the other hand, there are some optimum solutions to this issue apart from extending prison sentences. One of them is to raise people’s awareness to abide by the law. To specify, it is the basic knowledge about the rules that can help people to detect the forbidden actions and the consequences, hence a reduction in the number of felonies. In addition, we can use media censors as a precautionary measure. It is undeniable that many crimes can be attributed to the unsuitable content among social media, such as violence or sexual harassment. Consequently, these contents do harm to people’s behaviour, especially impressionable minds. Therefore, strictly controlling the media can help the government to mitigate the crime issue.

In conclusion, it is my firm belief that both of the given statements are justifiable. Personally, I highly recommend the government to extend the prison penalties of the criminals and apply some aforementioned solutions in order to mitigate the issue.