People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is widely believed that raising the cost of fuel is one solution from the government to address the environmental issues. Personally, I disagree with the this measure because I believe that other factors are equally important

On the one hand, increasing the price of fuel brings some benefits. Firstly, it can help reduce the environmental pollution to some degree. In other words, the excessive use of private cars which releases carbon dioxide into the atmosphere would be limited so encourage the utilization of public transports. Therefore, this measure would cut down on emissions from vehicles to impede the process of global warming and reduce the greenhouse effect. Secondly, the citizens are forced to lead greener life if the cost of fuel increase. It means that they have greater sense of saving energy in household activities such as air conditioning, heating, cooking and so on as well as in manufacturing operations by applying more environmentally friendly technology.

Nevertheless, I believe that higher cost of fuel, higher cost of production because the production lines are primarily depends on machines powered by fuel. For this reason, the inhabitants, especially ones living in poverty-stricken countries may struggle with more expensive goods. As a result, if the cost of fuel increase, it may fairly impact on some fields related such as mechanical industry, logistics and the general price of the market. Moreover, raising the cost of fuel are unable to exhaustively solve the world’s environmental problems as the world’s population keep climbing rapidly. Therefore, the government should invest more in renewable energy sources such as wind, solar rather than non-renewable resources like coal or fuel.

In conclusion, while increasing cost of fuel brings some positive effects; however this measure still exist some drawbacks that should not be overlooked.