People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems Give your opinion

Some national authorities believe that one solution to environmental problems would be to impose a high price on petrol. I cannot accept this view, and I will give my reasons below.

On the one hand, fuel plays a vital role in our daily lives. While the rise in fuel prices occur, people may be willing to pay for that. Therefore, does this policy limit the numbers of cars and other vehicles? Besides, fuel is the critical component of the national economy. Increasing its cost will impact significantly on the price of others. For example, because of transportation fee, this leads to the rise in vegetables and other goods.

On the other hand, raising the cost could be applied at a certain period as a stopgap measure. Instead, the government could adopt transport policies which could be more effective in the long term. The local authorities in London, for instance, introduced a congestion charge on all vehicles visiting the city centre. They use the money raised to subsidize the cost of fares and to invest in transport infrastructure. In turn, this will improve the air quality in the city, as a result of a reduction in exhaust fumes. Furthermore, the governments have turned their attention to bio-diesel as the alternative to recent fuel. It seems more sustainable policy than raising the cost of energy using for cars and other vehicles.

In conclusion, I do not believe that any fuel raising price policy is better than long term approaches to deal with the environmental problems.