People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is widely believed that the prices of petrol for cars and other vehicles should be increased by local authorities in order to address envronmental issues. While I consider that this might be effective measure, I would consider that other measures might have an even greater impact.

On the one hand, there is clear evidence for people to support the view that the raise taxes on fule can solve two environmental problems. To start with, it is a well-known fact that motorists who has private cars would limit the number and length of journeys to compensate for the extra expense. The governments would then upgrade and expense public transport provision in order to help easily travel for people to many different places as a typical example. In addition, there is no disputing that in terms of freight services, goods transported by rail rather than by truck. Accordingly, both these measures would cut down on emissions from vehicles as well as reduce the greenhouse effect.

On the other hand, there are obvious perks that could be witnessed from the fact that while the rise in fuel prices might be a stopgap measure, governments could adopt transport policies which would be more effective in the long term. To start with, it is commonly believed that congestion charge could be considered as one of useful measures. For instance, local authorities in London, introduced this measure on all vehicles visiting the city center. They use the money not only raised to subsidize the cost of fares but also invested in transport infrastructure. This gives rise to improve air quality and reduce exhaust fumes. Additionally, it is important to introduce bus and train passes in order to increase the use of public transport. Ideally, this activity would reduce pollution from private cars and combat global warming as well.

In conclusion, a sharp rise in petrol prices would be a useful environmentally-friendly transport measure, although in the longer term other steps would be more effective.