People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other

vehicles to solve environmental problems.

Give your opinion.

There is a spreading belief that the price of fuel that used for cars and other means of transportation should be increased to deal with environmental problems. I would like to express my contradiction to this statement and my reasons are outlined below.

Merits of raising taxes on petrol is hard to deny. The first to mention is it could help to minimize the effect of air pollution. One reason for this is that air contamination is mostly caused by traffic jams and gas emissions from cars and motorbikes in many growing countries. Thus, it could improve the quality of the atmosphere and prevent people from lung diseases. An additional positive is current administrations could use money earning from this policy to maintain and upgrade infrastructures. Take a look at London as an example, the government of this city used taxes to renovate public transport for the citizens. Therefore, people are encouraged to use public transport for their daily commute, and also reducing air pollution from congestions.

Nevertheless, increasing the cost of fuel can trigger a range of potential risks. One of the biggest negative is the raise of corruption. It could be a big concern if the money is not managed optimally. Another worrying issue is this could lead to financial burdens for many families, especially for poor families. In result, they could not have enough spending to effort the taxes, while there are many problems have to face with such as the expenditure on food, clothes, and further education.

In conclusion, raising petrol taxes has both pros and cons. For the one thing, it could reduce air pollution and increase funding on maintenance cost of public transports. However, it could lead to corruption and financial burdens. Personally, I am inclined to the fact that the drawbacks outnumber the advantages. Therefore, it is also imperative to thoroughly examine before this policy could be mandated in other countries.