People today prefer to socialize online to spend time with friends in local community. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is no doubt true that social media are enjoying increasing popularity and people, young people in particular, would like to use them to communicate with their friends, not only locally, but also nationally or even internationally. While I accept that this new communication tool can sometimes have a positive influence on its users, I believe that it is more likely to cause a harmful impact.

On the one hand, communication using social media can be cost-effective and energy-saving. People pay for phone calls but they generally do not pay for the internet. This is because the internet coverage is widespread and people can get easy access to wifi, which is almost free for individuals. On top of that, friends can communicate time and real without taking the trouble to travel together to talk about something, which is an incomparable advantage, that other communication tools can hardly offer. This really saves a lot of energy.

However, I believe that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Social media can be highly addictive. Research has shown that people check their Wechat---a social app equivalent to Twitter---more than fifty times a day. This can have a devastating impact on people’s work and study, because they cannot concentrate for a long time. Moreover, when people try to get to know what their friends are up to by browsing the friend circle on the Wechat, it is likely that they may get false information. The other day an acquaintance appealed to borrow some money through social media, saying that something misfortunate happened to her family. I was about to transfer money when I learned that her Wechat was kidnapped by someone evil. This is unbelievable.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of social media are more significant than the possible benefits.