Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers have different ways of assigning coursework. While some prefer to allocate projects calling for cooperation and teamwork among students, others tend to favor students working on their own. I agree that students can learn more effectively and efficiently when they have to cooperate with others. There are two main reasons which I will explore in this essay.

To start with, students can improve their work effectiveness by dividing the project into different parts, and each student has to focus on only one part of it. In this way, each student has more time and energy to finish the job, and they can do the job more thoroughly and patiently. Take me as an example. I remember when I was in university, my teacher assigned us a case study as homework. We were in groups of 4. We finished the job like this: first, we had a group discussion, analyzing the case. Student A was in charge of organizing the discussion to keep the ball rolling. Student B was responsible for taking notes and summarizing each student's main points. Students C took responsibility for PPT preparation while I was in charge of the presentation. As a result, we each had a priority, and we each could concentrate on just one aspect of the project. We ended up getting a high score for that assignment. Had I had to finish it by myself, I would probably have given up and ended up complaining about such a tough job that had cost me much time and energy.

Secondly, every student can be promoted to or forced to work effectively. As is known to all, everyone has inertia. If working independently, many students may be sluggish and laid back. This phenomenon is human nature. However, if working in a team, students who fall behind the schedule may feel embarrassed and be motivated to catch up with others. As in the case mentioned above, when a group member fell sick during the case study, other group members offered to help her voluntarily. She refused, however. She insisted on finishing her part so that she could sleep well because she had done her share of work conscientiously. This case is a good illustration of the encouraging nature of collective work.

That said, some students have the mentality of taking a free ride. Nevertheless, such cases are few and far between. In addition, even though they can succeed in taking a free ride for the first time, they can hardly do it a second time because they are likely to be kicked out by other members, and it would be hard for them to find partners next time.

To conclude, students can study more effectively in groups than individually because of labor division between members and the propulsion nature of teamwork.