A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions, old fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

People nowadays seems to view other person’s social status and material possessions as the main indicators that they use to judge others while moral values seems to be irrelevant to a person’s worth. People does not think these values as important while a person’s status in society and their riches are growing more relevant throughout the years. These 2 views will be discussed in more details.

According to my opinion, social status and material possessions are important and commonly people strives to have a high social status and become rich in their life. People view them as the main indicators of someone’s worth are due to both of them are most person’s goal in life. If a man has achieved their goal in life, most people will look up to him and judge him by it.

To the contrary, judging a person by their moral values is less popular because it is harder to do. Anyone could pretend to be a good person so that people view them highly while in reality, they have a bad attitude. Furthermore, people usually does not care about morals as long as they are rich. People would prefer having riches than morals and hence why they judge a person by their possessions.

I disagree with judging a person solely by their status and riches. Moral value of a person is more important because it would contribute to the society better. If a morally good person is in charge of a government, it could lead the society into a better future. To the contrary, a person should not be judged by their riches because it depends on how they obtain those riches either in a good or a bad way. In conclusion, judging others by their morale is more crucial than judging them by their status and riches.