A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A general opinion among the adults now is that nowadays people are judged based on their material possession and status rather than their trust, kindness and honor. The former is given more importance than the latter. While I agree that people are judged based on their social status and possession – I think an individual’s value is also given importance. \

You don’t need to look deep to figure out if this is true. Look at the people we consider as successes in the world now; Tech billionaires, social media influencers, activists, sports stars and models. All of these people are popular because they are exceptional in their field but the reason we can admire them is because they have made a successfully made a name for themselves. We measure this success by their net worth and who they are friends with. Their social circle and their lifestyle is what we are all envious of.

But is that all we care about? No.

Look at Bill Gates. He has been on the list of the top 5 richest person in the world for the last 10 years. Yet the reason that most people admire him is not because of his humbleness. He is a down-to-earth man who is investing in Africa to eradicate polio and provide everyone access to clean water. The fact that he stepped down as CEO of Microsoft and decided he wanted to make the world better rather than make more money is the reason he is an inspiration to all of us.

In conclusion, even though the public judges a person based on their wealth – their worth is determined by their humanity.