A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Social status and material possessions have recently been the yardstick for measuring a person's worth in the society, instead of the old-fashioned values like, honour, trust and kindness, which they see as irrelevant. I agree with this because people embrace the physical things that they see.

It is a known fact that a lot of people embrace wealth and other physical possessions which they see. In my country, Nigeria, the youth and some elderly dance to the tune of the affluent in the society. They do their biding, hoping to get a taste of their wealth as a compensation. Regrettably, majority of these high-profile people however, lack the necessary virtues of life, but their followers care less about it because they believe that wealth and high social status are what move the world. For this reason, they are not perturbed to become slaves while they garner their own status.

Another significant reason why the old-fashioned virtue do not matter any longer in this recent time is that people tend to pretend to posses those qualities for one reason or the other. It is recorded that a poor person is more honest, kind and trustworthy than one who has amassed wealth. This is so because the impoverished want to find favor before his people or handle a political position. At the long run when they must have attained some financial stability, they begin to display the hidden arrogance, rapacity in them, so leaving the governed in despair.

In conclusion, people amount to something in the society, only when they are rich and can extend a helping hand such as money. On the other hand, old-fashioned virtues do not count any longer.