A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many today contend that personal identities are defined by social rank and wealth. Despite the benefits they give, I would argue that the conventional values still play an important role in modern society, as they are the mottos of life.

The primary reason why I am convinced that social hierachy and richness cannot express people' cores is the lack of emotional expressions. It means that the human emotions are not interfered through how much money you have or how influenced you are. Entertainment industry is one of the most salient examples, of which some celebrities have been found guilty and imprisoned for money laundering. It is partly because they rushed for searching reputation, stable life, or acceptance.

If, on the one hand, social level or wealth just indicate the possessions of material, on the other, it is the major cause leading to depression or anxiety. Provided that it were not for the acceptance, people would bare less pressure of being success as they are defining, thereby understanding the core value of life. Additionally, tradition is not a taboo, since it guides people get back on track after experiencing failure. Being grateful for having food, for instance, is a traditional Vietnamese behavior that reminds us how hard our nation has to suffer to be fed, which also helps children know the values of hard-working.

In conclusion, I reckon raking popularity and richness in society is redundant and irrelevant. Meanwhile, it is necessary for people to repect old tradition as they still have influence to how humanity behave.