A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this contemporary age, It is not uncommon among people to quickly judge an individual based on their social status without paying heed to their character and moral values. In the prompt, it is mentioned that such ethical and moral values are losing their importance nowadays. I strongly disagree with this statement for two key reasons.

To begin, a person's social status and wealth does not account for their good and pleasant behaviour in any social situation. Despite owning a huge amount of wealth, if a person does not treat other people with kindness and respect, he will not be valued in the society. Due to his disrespectful and insolent behaviour, he will be isolated and left alone by his peers. A disrespectful wealthy person will not be able to buy their way into earning respect and friendship from other people. So, moral values and good behaviour still has significance in this world and age.

Moreover, in every profession, ethical values are given equal importance along with the professional skills. If people cannot maintain integrity in their job, they will not be trusted by their employers and eventually will be ousted from the job. For instance, a professional working with clients' data should possess the integrity to keep the data confidential and his client also expects him to do so. Similarly, a doctor should possess the quality of handling his patient with utmost kindness and sympathy. Good skills can be easily learnt while integrity and moral values are quite rare among people.

To conclude, ethical and moral values are still considered to be a big influence in our society because social stuas and money cannot buy respect and friendship. Moreover, while hiring a professional for a job, his ethical value are still given importance alongside his skills.