A person worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values such as honour, kindness, and trust no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the last few decades, people have been judged according to their possessions and how much money they have. I strongly disagree with this opinion; it kills many moral values such as kindness, trustworthy, honour and generosity. this essay shows that keeping positive ethical is important than one’s social status.

Firstly, we live in a materialistic era. Not only do people judge others through their social status but also they judge them by appearance which affects our children’ personalities. bullying is one of the worst problems in schools which has been raised due to their community thoughts, as they judge friends according to their clothes’ brand. For example, a study has been published by a societal magazine showed that 65% of students in the educational system are suffering from depression after being bullied, physically or emotionally, by their mates. Moreover, making friendship between students depends on how rich they are. For instance, a survey has been done by Cambridge University showed that 60% of students were making friends according to their appearance and school expenses.

Secondly, many people treat others in injustice way in government offices. For example, if you needed to get a document done from a government office and you looked rich, you would not have to queue in a line. In addition to that, most families refuse to marry their daughter to a person from a lower social class. For example, in 2017, an article has been written in an Egyptian newspaper showed that the percentage of unmarried women increased; families are looking for rich groom without focusing on the importance of moral values such as dignity, kindness, and trust.

In conclusion, in the modern era, money and social status are playing an essential role in judging people; however, in my point of view, the priority of judgement should be given to values such as honour, kindness, and trust.