Polygamy has lead to massive divorce rate around the globe. Give possible solution and discuss the reasons behind the issue.

It is stated that the massive divorce rate around the globe is actually due to polygamy. This essay will discuss the presumable reasons behind this phenomenon and propose possible solutions.

Certainly, polygamy has deep roots inside our societies: for example, there are still some cultures that celebrate polygamy as a fundamental aspect of their morals and do not consider it a problem. In our society, on the contrary, having more than one partner for life is not seen as a normal thing to fancy, but more likely it is a result of our non-committal culture. We are not able anymore to commit to someone in the name of our feelings, but instead, we are always looking for something else, assuming that it will make us feel complete. People today rely too much on others to make them feel complete whereas it would be more important to work on their own self-esteem.

It is not easy to propose solutions to this phenomenon, as polygamy is deeply rooted in ancient societies and it is still reflected in our cultures. A study could be conducted to better discover why this problem keeps getting worse, what are the psychological implications of commitment and why do people prefer to lean towards others instead of fight to build strong monogamous relationships. On the other hand, as a presumable cause, social media should be reduced in terms of what we can do with them, who we can send pictures and other contents to and what kind of files we can upload. Last but not least, when it comes to divorce, people have access to it too straightforward, so maybe the introduction of a form of punishment for polygamous married people could help sooth the problem.

In conclusion, we should ask ourselves: are human beings really naturally made for polygamous relationships, or is our society that is unable to be satisfied?