Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In today’s scenario, sports play a paramount

role in the development as well as progression of the country. The various sporting events such as football World Cup increases the brotherhood among nations. All these kinds of events provide a common platform to reduce tensions among countries as well as patriotism among individuals. I completely agree with the statement and I will shed a light on my view points in further paragraphs.

There are many good reasons why international events reduces tensions among various countries. Firstly, the various international competitions create the feeling of cooperation, team work. However, it also enhances the interaction between the players of different countries. Secondly, many countries get to know about the culture and traditions of opponent countries. For instance, on the World Cup, two different countries play matches with each other regularly which give two nations to understand about their cultural and traditions deeply. Thirdly, it also promotes tourism industry. However, it will further develops employment opportunities and lead to hike economy of the country by promoting tourism industry.

Moreover, when these types of international events occurs, fans show up their patriotic feeling by wearing clothes of their country, hoisting the flags and by painting their faces. For example, in India, when there is an international cricket match organised, most of the Indian fans paint their faces with the Indian flags and motivate their players to be well in the match. Before starting of the events, national anthem of participating countries is also sung which promotes patriotism among citizens of the country.

To recapitulate, I believe that these kinds of international events prove to be fruitful in lessening the conflict between two nations. It seems that by organisating these competitions, it will reduce lots of tensions among countries.