Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree ordisagree?

Alternation of popular hobbies is getting quicker and quicker result in some arguments that changing popular recreations tend to reflect trends and styles rather than true personal interests. I completely agree with this assertion.

On the one hand, many hobbies are simply faddish trends. I believed these trends deprived from peer group pressure among people, especially children and teenagers. When I was 13, for instance, I want to have long bangs by the reason this style is very much in vogue at that time, many surrounded friends possessed it, but this style only existed awhile. Another typical example is the phenomenon of admiring famous singers. Some new celebrities suddenly reputed, their career path was flying high and seem to reach a peak but for over a few months or so, they were fade into oblivion.

On the other hand, some trends help people find out what makes them interesting. Over recent years, there have been several different fitness trends for adults, from jogging to aerobics to yoga. Many fitness centers appeared, they also devised big and clever marketing strategies, finally, they succeeded in holding for lots of people. For the first time, everyone did exercises for pleasure or just followed the crowd, but after a short time, they recognized that they can get many benefits and relaxation from them and they make a habit of it. After all, they did for interests not only for temporary passion. I think that is a good example of popular interests that also reveal true enjoyment.

In some periods, people make choices based on their enjoyment but I believe that changing popular interests are more trendy than pure excitements.