Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of

trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in

their spare time.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for

your answer.

It is often said that we are living in an age when many of us enjoy in the popular hobbies and interests instead of spending time on what we really want to do in our spare time. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs.

There are several reasons why people are ready to abandon their hobbies to follow the new things which sometimes do not really make them feel satisfied . First of all, it usually falls into those who do not have their persistent determination to defend their personal hobbies and are easily influenced by the outer effects. To illustrate this argument, the young people witness the most clear expressions for this trend. For instance, many students nowadays choose spending their weekend in the tutorial classes of maths, physics or some other natural subjects instead of studying their favorite subjects of sociological subjects because of the fact that people mostly believe that in these days, the society and the careers are in favour of the natural subjects more. Secondly, this issue is also caused by the lack of knowledge about society or themselves. In particular, many of them have the thought that they will become out of date and be laughed at people if they are unable to catch up with the fashion and trend of the time. As a result, they are in attempt to make themselves become the snobbishness. In another side, some cases fall into the situation which they do not really know what their hobby is; therefore, they always follow other people.

In conclusion, the fact that many of us tend to follow the movements which is supposed to be common in the community and forget our favorite things in the leisure time due to many different reasons. I know that we are living in the age when everything changed dizzily, it is neccessary to update the innovative trends. However, it will be boring if we only run after and give up our hobbies which make feel happy with the life.