The population of many cities is growing rapidly. What are the effects on people living in these cities? What can be done to maintain the quality of life of these people?

Overpopulation has been widely observed in urban areas. This essay will highlight several impacts of this pervading problem on city dwellers, and recommend a number of feasible approaches to stabilise their life quality.

To begin with, when cities become densely-populated, two repercussions stand out as their common negative influences on residents. Chief among those is traffic congestion, in which vehicles frequently grind to a halt during peaked hours. In fact, obviously, the more citizens flock into major cities, the denser the traffic flow will be due to an amplifying number of private transports, just as regions like Jakarta or Bangkok are suffering, as revealed by statistics. In addition, it is proven that no sooner had a region swarmed with people than such lifted population density posed more threats to public health. Specifically, since they are residing in a limited space, avoiding close contact with a patient once they contract a contagious disease becomes more challenging, so the outbreak of an epidemic is imminent, which may cripple the medical system.

However, possible measures can be proposed to support city dwellers in enhancing their wellbeing. Firstly, as traffic conditions are on the bane, the government should allocate resources to upgrade and expand the public transportation system. Indeed, as long as this policy is adopted, rush-hour traffic jams can be mitigated, for the ubiquity of buses, undergrounds or trams may dispense with the use of private vehicles and, therefore, ease traffic flow. Furthermore, another noteworthy point lies in how the authority caters to the physical states of residents, in which massive investment in vaccination and enhancing hygiene standards are highly recommended. Particularly, not only do these strategies establish community immunity against dangerous pandemics, but they also eradicate pathogens by depriving them of the optimal environment for proliferation.

In conclusion, while the rapid population growth in urban regions result in various pressing issues, only by substantive efforts from policy makers can people’s living standard be on par with it previously was.