Professional athletes in popular sports like football (soccer) and basketball are overpaid. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is a normal conception that popular game players' earnings are too high to commensurate with their work. Though they get their hard work paid after winning titles for their nations, but their salaries are unjustifiable when compared with other people working dawn to dusk round the year for their countries.

Popular sports, in a country, are often sponsored by reputed multinational brands. From team shirts to investiture ceremonies are financed by many industries bringing a huge revenue. For premier leagues, franchises put a lot of money while quoting players. In international tournaments we see even more investments. The reason for such huge investments by industries is due to humongous viewership winning them publicity. Then famous players are hired as brand ambassadors and acting in advertisements of these brands as well. All this makes them to earn a lot of money. But the main reason of all this fame and earnings is people's viewership. Furthermore, players are often heavily rewarded by governments for winning title for their nations. Though its our attitude towards them which make them so popular and rich, but their earnings are quite unjustified when compared with our educated people like scientists, doctors and engineers. Governments support all foreign tours of teams with reserve players but its very hard nut to crack for one scientist to get funding for presenting his research at an international conference. Players, making much more money, adopt sumptuous lifestyle and get idealized by youth. A lot of high school students focus more on sports than the studies and end up in ruining their careers.

To conclude, sportsmen just get reward of their hard work in the field but bestowing them with extra-ordinary rewards discourages people serving their country in other fields of life.