Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Punishment defined for the crimes and the role of adjudicating bodies in sentencing the criminals are the hot topics nowadays. Many people believe that the circumstances in which the crime is done should also be taken into account while punishing a criminal, but the others opine that the defined punishment must be indicted upon criminal for a particular crime. In my view, context of an individual crime must be considered while penalizing the wrong doers since numerous crimes take place unintentionally, due to collective failure of society or in self-defence.

There is an old tale about a king who mistakenly shot a person in a jungle while trying to prey a deer. Irrespective of the denouement of the story, I just want to depict that sometimes a very serious crime occurs unintentionally, and no sane person can punish the criminal harshly in these cases. We observe numerous such cases even today especially by law enforcement agencies (usually referred as collateral damage). Similarly, sometimes people harm someone in self-defence. For example, a person may shoot a dacoit in a botched robbery attempt. Furthermore, a gloomy reason of crimes is failure of society to serve justice. A number of criminals come from very generous families who couldn't get justice by the system and were naturally forced into criminal world. Or they were forced to do a crime by their atrocious economical conditions. Many innocent young girls are forced to step into crimes being blackmailed by their partners. In all such cases, we see our sympathies with the criminals though they actually have done crime. But keeping the circumstances into mind, a generous punishment can do far-more than a severe punishment. For example, a cop who mistakenly shot a person during a operation against drug paddlers should get less punishment than the one who choked an innocent citizen to death.

On the other hand, some people have views that the word "circumstances" is very grey and undefinable. There are no rules on which adjudicates can abate the punishment. One person may thing a crime being light, and other may think harsh on the same time. So, there should be same punishment for all criminals doing a particular crime to remove the ambiguity.

Explained both the school of thoughts, I would conclude that the punishment should be indicted based on the circumstances in which the crime took place. Otherwise a person killing a man unintentionally is incarcerated for the same time as a person who killed ten people brutally, doesn't make sense. It discourages the person with crime of less severe nature. this conception will urge people to do more harsh crimes before arrest so that their crime would be commensurate with their punishment. This thought will be very much deleterious for a peaceful society.