University students must pay all tuition fees, because it benefits mostly them individually, rather than the society as a whole.

Do you agree or disagree?

Educational expenses in Higher Educational Institutes (HEIs) vary from country to country, self-financed to fully funded education. Many people think that the university education should be free whereas the others opine that government shouldn't support students since it is not going to get anything out of it. However, I belong to the earlier group because any service, a graduate provides, benefits the country at the end of the day.

Education, being classified as a basic need, is the responsibility of government. It benefits the state in implementing policies and laws because an educational society have a prescience of problems and their solutions in the long run. So, they usually don't resist towards harsh policies in tough times. Furthermore, more educational people provide a good team to grapple with the problems. Local scientists and researchers always impart low cost on the country while finding solutions of the local issues and understand them in far better way than the foreign experts. Jingoist engineers, doctors and scientist can work hard for their homeland and provide very economical and scintillating solutions of challenges to play their part in building a prosperous country. For example, Dr. Abdul Qadir Khan, a notable Pakistani nuclear scientist and founder of Pakistan's atomic program, was employed in Netherlands when Pakistan was defeated in 1971 war. He abandoned his bread and butter for Pakistan and founded nuclear program there and made his country first Islamic and seventh nuclear power globally. Otherwise, it was not possible to work on such program amid vigilant rival agencies.

This demands for very industrious and well-educated graduates from local HEIs. However, very high educational expenses hobble many mediocre and low-income families to provide higher education to their brilliant and on-merit children. This eventually pulls weak but rich students on top of the lists which yields very poor graduation cohorts. Many poor students, in such circumstances, try to earn their money with part-time jobs to pay their fees. It distracts them from their studies, and they are failed to present expected or required results.

It is evident from the above discussion that the local graduates benefit their homeland anyways. Even if they work abroad, they bring capital to their country. So, a state should provide at least subsidized higher education to its citizen. It will expedite the progress and grappling power of the country.