Public celebrations (national days, festivals) are held in many countries. Some
people say that these celebrations are a waste of money and we should spend
money on more important things.
Do you agree or disagree?
National days and festivals are prominent events to celebrating the country’s traditions and culture.
Some people argued that these kinds of occasions are a waste of taxpayers’ money. I partially agree
with the given statement. This essay will discuss both views with relevant examples.
At the outset, there are a plethora of reasons why people need to celebrate their festivals, first and
foremost reason is religious festivals are connected people with their ancestors by following rituals
and devotee their god and goddess on auspicious festivals. In addition, people spent valuable time
with their family on festivals such as Diwali, Id, and Christmas. Moreover, government and
citizens will remember their freedom fighters and heroes on special days like Independence Day,
birth or death anniversary of martyr heroes, and recall their contributions for giving freedom from
others.
Furthermore, festivals would boost the nation’s economy; people spend money on gifts, clothes,
sweets, and fireworks and support the indigenous business. To add, long time festival season would
increase tourism and related jobs. For instance, in India on Diwali vacation, people travel to many
holiday destinations in India as well as abroad and foreign tourists come to India to see various
traditions and cultures.
However, the government needs control over extravagant costs on public festivals and use that
taxpayer’s money on other government sectors, such as education, electricity, road and transport,
rail, and other important sectors and develop the country from all sides.
In conclusion, it can be said that, public celebrations are play important role in an individual’s life
and people can celebrate their festivals with joy. Similarly, festivals and national days boost the
nation’s economy and tourism sector. While government should control unnecessary costs on
various celebrations and utilize that money for a good purpose.