Public libraries will soon now longer be housed in a building as all facilities and books will be available online for all to access. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the public libraries only existing online.

Due to the advancement of technology, many people prefer access to e-books rather than hard copies. Since all material is present for online access, public libraries will no longer be available in buildings. This essay will discuss the benefits and losses of such a decision.

Accessing books online would be a cheaper method. This is because expenditure such as deposits for expensive books would be absent. For example, numerous public libraries require a sum of amount deposited to borrow rare copies of old books. Additionally, there will be no fines incurred due to returning a particular book after an assigned deadline. Hence, online access would cut down all such costs. Also, all library material housed online would provide easy access to people of all age groups. There would be no necessity to go to a library and search for a book within thousands of shelves. A book could be found with ease using the search capacity of modern technology.

Despite such advantages of online libraries, there are also many disadvantages to be considered. Firstly, libraries are those places which provide a calm environment to read. One of the main reasons many readers pick libraries is due to absence of such calmness in busy cities. Closing such public libraries would not be encouraged by such avid readers. Secondly, public libraries provide numerous jobs to adults as well as part-time employment to teenagers. Shutting down these places would result in loss of jobs for these individuals.

To conclude, though housing all material provided by libraries online is advantageous, it is equally disadvantageous to people who are regular visitors or those who are dependent on those jobs for a livelihood.