An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that people from impoverished nations of Tagus have a deficiency in vitamin A. The organization which has developed the new breed of millet with high amount of vitamin A has assumed that the government will be paying subsidies for farming this costly product and also assumed that people will be ready to accept this new form which they think might be dangerous to them. The questions that should be answered before bringing this into action are elucidated below.

Firstly, it is mentioned that people in the impoverished nations are deficient in vitamin A. But is is true that every single person within these nations are vitamin A deficient? By adopting this new breed as the staple food for these nations, can it harm those people who are not deficient? The organization should consider the entire population while making this drastic change since there might also be ample amount of people who are not deficient and eating a breed with high amounts of vitamin A might harm them with over dose of vitamin A.

Secondly, since the argument mentions that the new type of millet is costly, it should also consider if the governments of these impoverished nations are ready to provide subsidies for the farmers. It is common that impoverished nations turned so due to lack of money in the economy or a lot of debts on the nation or might have an irresponsible government. When there is lack of money, then it might be an impossible task for the government to provide huge sums of money for this new breed of millets for hundreds of farmers planning on taking this up. Also if the case is of an irresponsible government, they would not care about the well being of the people. This means that the government would be indifferent to providing any subsidies to its farmers. So, before promoting this new breed, the organization should consider how capable the government is in taking the task up.

Thirdly, since the argument states that millet is already a staple food for Tagus people, they might have a traditional grain that farmers might be using to bring up the crops. The question here is, how skeptical are the people of Tagus for adopting a new seed? Most traditional farmers have a stock of their own produce that they use as the seeds for their new crop. The farmers have the knowledge on how to use their old seed. But since they are foreign to this new type of millet, the farmer might be skeptical to adopt to new techniques of farming and use different pesticides or taking different care of the crop. The willingness and education of the farmers should also be considered while promoting this new breed.

Finally, it needs to be understood that the company has taken up a good task of supporting the impoverished nations but it should also consider the ample of questions that may rise up while promoting their invention for the success of the product.