By punishing murders with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murders.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While giving a death sentence to murders, the society feels that they are too liable of committing a murder, hence life time imprisonment is a better option as per them. I do not feel that life time in prison is a better punishment for the murders and I shall justify my views with the below examples.

By not giving a strict punishment to the prisoner, the person who shall commit such severe crime, shall not have any fear of the judgement as they know that the maximum punishment they shall get is life-time of service in the prison. They have a chance of breaking the prison and again do such a harsh work. Such people are a always a threat to society. Few months back, it was reported that a prisoner in Tihar jail, who was sent for life time imprisonment broke the jail and was ran away, after few months he was again found and captured only to find out that he murdered the jeweler of that area because the person did not agree to give him the money he asked as a ransom.

Another reason why I feel that death charges must be given to the murders is due to the family of the victims. The loss that the family experiences can never be fulfilled again and if they come to know that the person who killed their loved one is still alive and there is a possibility that due to good behaviour that person might get a reduce in the sentence or perhaps set free, is similar to having a feeling of betrayal.

Hence, I do not agree that the murders must be sent to life imprisonment, instead they must be given death charges so that family of the victim can get equal justice.